On Thursday, May 7th, at 11:00 a.m. in Memory Grove (just below City Creek Canyon), Governor Jon Huntsman, Jr., Salt Lake County Mayor Peter Corroon, Salt Lake City Mayor Ralph Becker, and U.S. Forest Supervisor Brian Ferebee will kick-off the Wasatch Canyons Tomorrow process and describe the public’s role in developing strategies for the canyons.


The Wasatch Canyons Tomorrow process will help update Salt Lake County’s 1989 Wasatch Canyons Master Plan.  This plan guides policy for City Creek, Emigration, Red Butte, Parleys, Millcreek, Big Cottonwood, and Little Cottonwood Canyons.  The canyons provide more than 50% of Salt Lake City’s water supply, and significantly add to the quality of life for residents of the Salt Lake Valley.  With the doubling of the county’s population in the next 30 years, Wasatch Canyons Tomorrow will strive to ensure the long-term health of these treasured canyons, balancing land-use, recreational, transportation, and environmental concerns.


Salt Lake City, Salt Lake County, and the State of Utah are the principal sponsors of the Wasatch Canyons Tomorrow process.  Envision Utah is facilitating data collection and public participation.  The U.S. Forest Service is a supportive partner and providing technical assistance. 



Starting May 7th, the public can complete an important survey on the canyons at www.wasatchcanyons.slco.org.


Workshops (May 12th, 13th and 14th 2009)

Educational workshops will inform the public about canyon issues, stimulate informed participation in the process, and seek public input.  Interactive keypad polling gauges reaction to planning strategies in real time; participants will anonymously vote on survey questions.  Workshops will begin at 6:30 p.m. To RSVP, contact canyons@envisionutah.org

May 12th

Alta High School Media Center –

11055 S. Hawk Highway (Sandy)

Hunter High School Cafeteria –

4200 S. 5600 W. (West Valley City)

May 13th

Skyline High School Cafeteria –

3251 E. 3760 S. (Mill Creek)

Sandy City Hall (2nd floor) –

10000 S. Centennial Parkway

May 14th

Westminster College Concert Hall –

1840 S. 1300 E. (Salt Lake City)

West Jordan High School Media Center –

8136 S. 2700 W.


Website (www.wasatchcanyons.slco.org)

Those who miss a workshop can participate online through an interactive and educational survey.  The website will also include relevant studies and resources.


Steering Committee

This group is committed to a transparent process and will make key decisions as to how the process is undertaken. 


Mike Allegra, Utah Transit Authority / Brent Atkinson, Salt Lake County Sheriff’s Office / Brad Barber, Barber Consulting / Scott Beck, Salt Lake Visitors/Convention Bureau / Brian Bennion, Salt Lake Valley Health Dept. / Laura McIndoe Briefer, Salt Lake City Public Utilities / Barbara Cameron, Big Cottonwood Community Council / Mark Clemens, Sierra Club / Mayor Kelvyn Cullimore, Cottonwood Heights / Rusty Dassing, Utah Powderbirds / Paul Dremann, Governor’s Blue Ribbon Advisory Panel / Sally Elliott, Summit County Council / Rolayne Fairclough, AAA of Utah / Carl Fisher, Save Our Canyons / Wendy Fisher, Utah Open Lands / Mike Hansen, Granite Community Council / Rep. Greg Hughes, Utah State House / Gregory Lee, Red Butte Garden / Sen. Pat Jones, Utah State Senate / Cathy Kahlow, U.S. Forest Service / Lee Kapaloski, Parsons, Behle & Latimer / Dan Knopt, Silver Fork Lodge / Carol Majeske, U.S. Forest Service / Ben McAdams, Salt Lake City Mayor’s Office / Chris McCandless, Sandy City Council / Peter Metcalf, Outdoor Retailers Association / Ryan Miller, Intl. Mountain Biking Association / Mike Mower, Utah Governor’s Office / Sen. Wayne Niederhauser, Utah State Senate / Jeff Niermeyer, Salt Lake City Public Utilities / Ann Ober, Salt Lake County Mayor’s Office / Mayor Tom Pollard, Alta / Margo Provost, Log Haven / Nathan Rafferty, Ski Utah / Pat Shea, former BLM Director / Amanda Smith, Utah Governor’s Office / Joe Smolka, Emigration Canyon Community Council / John Thomas, Utah Dept. of Transportation / Mayor Dennis Webb, Holladay / Mayor Dana Williams, Park City / Mike Wilson, Metro Water District of Salt Lake& Sandy / Ted Wilson, Utah Rivers Council / Curtis Woodward, Salt Lake County Planning / Todd Young, Salt Lake County Planning Commission / Judy Zachary, Wasatch Mountain Club