PARK CITY TELEVISION TEAMS UP FOR THE ULTIMATE SUNDANCE GIFT BAG



Local, national, big and small businesses join together to support independent film

PARK CITY, Utah (Jan. 23, 2009) – Park City Television, the premier source for entertainment in Utah, and one of the most complete sources for information on the Sundance and Slamdance film festivals was proud to team up with a host of businesses to provide independent filmmakers, actors and musicians with a great variety of gifts during this year’s festivals.

Over the 10 days of the festival, PCTV played host to 76 different filmmakers (plus cast members and documentary subjects) and 21 musical acts in our Park City studio, and each of the over 200 guests left with a wonderful Organic Cotton Tote Bag from Fierce Hugs (http://fiercehugs.com) filled with wonderful items.

Utah companies big and small were offered the chance to showcase their product through a posting with Local First Utah (http://localfirst.org). Artists Steve Jerman (Recycled Record Cover Journals - http://stevejerman.com/paper.html) and Jodi McRaney Rusho (http://GlassWithAPast.com) contributed items, as did Celestial Soy Candles (http://www.sustainability.utah.edu/celestialsoycandles.htm). USANA donated boxes of Rev3 Energy Drink, Zagg.com offered gift cards, Ken Sanders Rare Books gave limited edition t-shirts, and recipients got discounts on massage from Cloud 10 (http://cloud10massage.com) and items from Locals Have More Fun (http://localshavemorefun.com). People even had a chance to help others, with information on how to help the Third District Juvenile Court Mentoring Program (http://www.volunteermatch.org/search/org66622.jsp).

For the music lovers, Salt Lake City label Eden’s Watchtower Records (http://edenswatchtower.com), the Access Film Music Festival (http://accessfilmmusic.net), and Salt Lake artists and Tolchock Trio, Band of Annuals, The Devil Whale, Taught Me and Zachary Robert Galanis provided CDs, while those more fashionably inclined were glad to find fleece scarves from Salt Lake City designer Danny Nappi (http://nappiclothing.com).

National businesses also chipped in, with Bare Escentuals natural cosmetics for men and women (http://bareescentuals), Herban Lifestyle lip balm(http://herbanlifestyle.com), Paul Mitchell hair products (http://paulmitchell.com), Patron Tequila (offering mints and sunscreen – http://patronspirits.com), and Lucy (http://Lucy.com) keeping tootsies warm with bamboo sport socks.

While the festivals are true showcases for independent artists, big-name celebrities were also in town, and many came by the station for interviews or to perform. Some of the guests to PCTV include:

Spike Lee, Robert Townsend, John Krasinski, Jane Lynch, Ray Manzarek and Robbie Krieger (The Doors), Jeff Daniels, Justin Kirk, Carey Mulligan, Kevin Bacon, Paul Giamatti, Benjamin Bratt, Patton Oswalt, Peter Gallagher, Bobcat Goldthwait, Kevin Heffernan, Steve Lemmle, de’Adre Aziza (Tony award winner)Michael Jai White, Emmy Rossum, Chaz Palminteri, Jason Ritter, Jess Weixler, Kyle MacLachlan, Michael Shannon (2009 Oscar nominee), Kevin Spacey, Maiysha (2009 Grammy nominee), Lenka – and many, many more.

You can see Park City Television’s coverage on our website, http://parkcity.tv or on our YouTube site – http://youtube.com/ParkCityTV.

For more information, contact news director Ori Hoffer at ori@parkcity.tv.

Spike Lee (PASSING STRANGE), Bobcat Goldthwait, Alexie Gilmore and Daryl Sabara (WORLD'S GREATEST DAD)