Park City Television (PCTV) is pleased to announce that it recently received 12 awards (four 1st place, four 2nd place, three 3rd place, one Honorable Mention) at the annual awards ceremony for the Society of Professional Journalists – Utah Headliners chapter

The Society of Professional Journalists (SPJ) awards recognize outstanding achievement in journalism and dedicated service to the profession. The purpose is to stimulate high standards and ethical behavior in the practice of journalism. The Utah Headliners chapter hands out awards to television and radio stations, newspapers and magazines throughout the state.

The Utah Headliners chapter offers awards in 21 categories for television reporting and videography and PCTV’s haul was the second highest of all TV stations, with more than twice the awards that KUTV, KTVX, KUED and FOX13 combined took home.

The station picked up the prizes in a variety of categories, from documentary to personality profile to sports show, but where the station truly stood out was in the technical craft categories, winning 1st place awards in:

  • Editing for Mike Bradshaw’s work on the 2008 STIHL Timbersports competition
  • Sports Videography for Michael Preman’s Jeep 48 Straight feature
  • Feature Videography for Andy Bauman’s piece on Rio Tinto Stadium

Most impressive, however was the 1-2-3 sweep of the Best Videographer category. Andy Bauman took the top honor, with the judges complimenting his “Great angles, great framing, interesting shots and p.o.v. of action.” Mike Bradsahw was a “very close second, and Michael Preman took third place.

“People don’t always think of our station as an outlet for reporting, but being honored by a group like the Society of Professional Journalists shows that isn’t the case,” said Stanton D. Jones, station owner and general manager. “And our domination of the videography category only emphasizes the tremendous work and amazing people that we have on our staff.”

Many of these pieces can be viewed online, contact News Director Ori Hoffer, for links, or for more information.

All awards won by Park City Television at the 2008-09 SPJ Awards:


T 6 Documentary

Honorable Mention Mike Bradshaw, Andy Bauman, Michael C. Preman, Kevin Rapf, Mike Debernardo – “National Mountain Bike Series: Deer Valley”

T 15 Personality Profile

2nd Place Andy Bauman, Ori Hoffer – “RSL’s Kyle Beckerman”

3rd Place Jeff Swindel, Jen Hardman – “Artist Profile: Brittany Powell”

T 16 Sports Reporting

2nd Place Kevin Rapf – “Quad Rugby in Park City”

T 17 Best Sports Show

3rd Place Mike Bradshaw, Ori Hoffer, Michael C. Preman, Andy Bauman, Kevin Rapf and Jeff Swindel – “Wasatch Speedgoat”

T-18 Editing

1st Place Mike Bradshaw – “STIHL Timbersports”

Compelling series of edits that helped move the story along. Nice pacing and choice of shots.

2nd Place Andy Bauman – “Ski Superpipe”


V 1 Best Videographer

1st Place Andy Bauman – “Best of Andy Bauman.” Great angles, great framing, interesting shots and p.o.v. of action. Nice work.

2nd Place Mike Bradshaw – “Best of Mike Bradshaw.” This was a very close second.

3rd Place Michael C Preman – “Best of Michael C. Preman”

V 3 Sports

1st Place Michael C. Preman – “Jeep 48 Straight.” Good solid, steady shots, nice angles and use of rack focus. Really pretty pictures captured action well.

V 4 Feature

1st Place Andy Bauman, Ori Hoffer - "Rio Tinto Stadium." Beautiful camera work. Dynamic shots and editing. Nice storytelling.